Congratulations to the 2011-2012 Moot Court Team

The all-star team has been selected. The following Columbia Law students will participate in the 20th Annual National Native American Law Students Association Moot Court Competition, which will be held in Honolulu, Hawai’i from February 24 through 25:

Joann Kintz
Ian MacDougall
Michelle Luo
Meagan Burrows
William Nahill
Arlene Ortiz-Leyette
Shefali Singh
Benjamin Gossels
Natasha Reyes
Caroline Stover
Carly Hudson
Kathryn Benedict
Adelle Fontanet (3L)
Ezra Corral (3L)

Book your tickets now if you would like to support the team! Alternatively, if you’d prefer to stay put, you can read more about the upcoming competition here.  Last year, Columbia Law School had the honor of hosting the NNALSA competition.  (If you’d like to refresh your memory, feel free to read more about last year’s team here.)  But we are happy to pass the hosting torch to the University of Hawai’i, and even happier to announce this year’s phenomenal competitors.

A hearty congratulations to them all!

Welcome Back — Fall is in Full Swing!

Columbia NALSA has been keeping busy this fall welcoming the 1Ls to campus, first with a group visit to the National Museum of the American Indian, and later by joining with BLSA, LaLSA, APALSA, and EWOC for a meet-and-greet Happy Hour at Boat Basin.

Now that October has arrived, we are kicking off the month with a Federal Indian Law Primer. For an introductory lecture on the basics of Federal Indian Law, including key legal cases, and a discussion of what it means to practice on behalf of Tribes and Tribal organizations, we hope you will join us at 6:30pm on Monday, October 10, in JG 103!